The English Wife

The English Wife book cover

Two women, a world apart. A secret waiting to be discovered…

VE Day 1945. As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.

Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back home in Newfoundland recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001. Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.

Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…

A timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience, perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.


Order Online

Amazon UK    Amazon USA    Amazon Canada    Kobo    Google Play    Apple Books    Hive

‘Told with the rich descriptive narrative required to do justice to any story of Newfoundland, The English Wife is an absolute must-read’  Carolyn R. Parsons, Canada Book Award-winning author of The Forbidden Dreams of Betsy Elliott


Audiobook Sample


The English Wife Blog Tour

Find out more here:
https://www.rachelsrandomresources.com/the-english-wife


Reviews of The English Wife

‘I absolutely LOVED this! I was genuinely gripped from start to finish. Beautifully crafted, compelling characters, emotional, dramatic and unexpected in lots of different ways.’

‘This book was so good. I didn’t put it down! The characters were well-rounded and the storyline sucked you into it and made you feel like you were really there. The author did a great job with telling this story.’

‘I really loved how author Adrienne Chinn wove the stories between the three time periods. Her characters are well developed and you can see into their personalities clearly. Her beautiful descriptions of Newfoundland and the way she wrote the accents into the story made me want to visit there!!! I highly recommend this book!’

‘Loved the book, especially the flashbacks made the story really interesting, loved the strong characters and their stories. Recommend it to all my friends’

‘The English Wife is a seamlessly woven dual storyline novel set at the end of World War II and the aftermath of 9/11. Powerfully told and moving – wonderful characterizations!’

‘A book that drew me in from the first pages. The characters come alive, so well-written – fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow, a book I will be recommending.’

‘I couldn’t put it down. It was not your typical historical novel and I think that’s what I loved about it. Great book!’

‘Highly recommend this book, especially if you’re looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff. It was wonderful!’

‘This book will transport you back in time and hold onto you until you become one with the time period. Fantastic writing style and will keep you hooked until the very last page.’ 4* Amanda

‘Holy cow. This book was … intense, a roller coaster, crazy. It’s a great book… I’m not one who tears up at books much, but this one was captivating and moving, and I could not’ put it down. My kids got to have a free time day so I could read uninterrupted! 🙂 This book is a must read for any fan of historical fiction.’ 5* Kiersten B

‘A charming story of one family throughout the 20th century whose decisions, deceits, and struggles defines who they are and who they were to each other. A self-discovery on one hand, for more than one character, and a historical account of the world through the family’s eyes on the other. I found myself invested in the characters, rooting for some, annoyed with others, as Chinn painted such a clear picture of them. The plot jumps through time on different threads but everything comes together as it should. I truly enjoyed this one.’ 4* Kim P